The Pauling Medal Award

Laura Gagliardi is the 2023 Pauling Medal Awardee

The 2023 Pauling Medal has been awarded to Professor Laura Gagliardi, Richard and Kathy Leventhal Professor, University of Chicago.

Laura Gagliardi
2023 Pauling Medal Winner

Please visit Dr. Gagliardi’s’ web page at the University of Chicago for information about her research, activities, and other awards. A press release from the University of Chicago can be found here.

The 2023 Pauling Medal Symposium

The 2023 Pauling Medal will be presented to Professor Gagliardi on November 4th, 2023 at the 2023 Pauling Medal Symposium, to be held University of Puget Sound, Tacoma, WA. Please visit the symposium web page and register by October 13th.

The Pauling Medal Award recognizes outstanding achievement in chemistry and is presented annually by the Puget Sound, Oregon, and Portland Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award is named after Dr. Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest, because of the inspiration of his example. A nominee shall have made outstanding contributions to chemistry of a character that have merited national and international recognition.

Information about submitting nominations for the 2024 Pauling Medal Award will be available here in early 2024.

For information about the 2022 award and symposium, please visit the 2022 Pauling Medal Symposium page.

Recipients of the Linus Pauling Medal Award

For general information about submitting nominations for future Pauling Medal Awards, please contact the chair of one of the sponsoring ACS local sections: Puget Sound, Portland, and Oregon.

For further information about Linus Pauling, please see the Pauling Archives and Research Center at Oregon State University.

The Pauling Medal web page is hosted by the Puget Sound Section on behalf of the three ACS local sections that sponsor the award (Puget Sound, Portland, and Oregon). For information about this page contact acspugetsoundsection at gmail.