The Pauling Medal Award

The Pauling Medal Award recognizes outstanding achievement in chemistry and is presented annually by the Puget Sound, Oregon, and Portland Sections of the American Chemical Society. The award is named after Dr. Linus Pauling, a native of the Pacific Northwest, because of the inspiration of his example. A nominee shall have made outstanding contributions to chemistry of a character that have merited national and international recognition.

2022 Winner – Dr. Cynthia J. Burrows

The 2022 Pauling Medal awardee is Professor Cynthia J. Burrows, Distinguished Professor and Thatcher Presidential Endowed Chair of Biological Chemistry at the University of Utah. Please visit Dr. Burrows’ web page at the University of Utah for information about her research, activities, and other awards.

Cynthia J. Burrows

The 2022 Pauling Medal Symposium

The 2022 Pauling Medal will be presented to Professor Burrows at a symposium to be held in Fall 2022. For information about the symposium, please visit the 2022 Pauling Medal Symposium page. Additional details about the 2022 symposium will be posted there as they become available. For questions about the 2022 symposium, please contact Dr. Dean Atkinson at or Dr. David Reingold at

Past Recipients of the Linus Pauling Medal Award

For information about submitting nominations for future Pauling Medal Awards, please contact the chair of one of the sponsoring ACS local sections: Puget Sound, Portland, and Oregon.

For further information about Linus Pauling, please see the Pauling Archives and Research Center at Oregon State University.

The Pauling Medal web page is hosted by the Puget Sound Section on behalf of the three ACS local sections that sponsor the award (Puget Sound, Portland, and Oregon). For information about this page contact acspugetsoundsection at gmail.